Skip to main content



GM Julio Becerra
GM Julio Becerra – 2 time Cuban National Champion, and a 3 time member of the Cuban Olympiad team. Defected to the US in 1999, and moved to Florida in 2005, where he has won the State Championship 8 times. US Chess League MVP in 2006.


Hall of Fame GM John Fedorowicz
GM John Fedorowicz – US Jr. Champion in 1977 (tied), and 1978 (outright). Won the World Open (1977), US Open (1980), Cannes (1987), and Wijk an Zee (1990). US Chess Hall of Fame member. Coach of US Jr Olympiad team,  and US Olympiad team.


GM Alex Lenderman – became a GM at 19. Won World Under 16 Championship in 2005. 2015 World Open winner. Gold Medal winner on Board #2 at the 2015 World Team Championship.


GM Daniel Naroditsky
GM Daniel Naroditsky – Won 2007 World Under 12 Championship. Ranked #1 in the US for his age 8 straight years. Won 2012 US Jr. Championship. 2014 Samford Fellowship recipient. Published Chess author.


GM Magesh Panchanathan – 2003 Asian Jr. Champion. Tied first, 2005 World Open. Won 2012
Philadelphia Open.

GM Ben Finegold - Tied for first in two US Opens (1994, 2007) and in the 2002 World Open, and has played in nine US Championships. He was "GM in Residence" at the Chess Club and Scholastic Center of St. Louis from September 2009 - August 2012, and is a co-founder of the Chess Club and Scholastic Center of Atlanta, where he now resides.

IM Silas Lund - Achieved the IM title in 2007. One GM norm in 2008. In recent years has focused mostly on writing and teaching, and developing educational games. See all his books here. Currently living in NY.

FM Peter Giannatos – went from 589 to 2000+ in 4 years. Founder and Executive Director of the Charlotte Chess Center and Scholastic Academy.

LM Bryan Tillis – Full time chess teacher for 6 years in the West Palm Beach school system. Author of a chess instruction book for beginners, Become a Chess Champion.




2017 Instructors:

  • GM Julio Becerra 
  • GM John Fedorowicz
  • GM Daniel Naroditsky
  • GM Magesh Panchanathan
  • GM Greg Serper
  • FM Peter Giannatos
  • LM Damir Studen
  • LM Bryan Tillis

2016 Instructors:

  • GM Varuzhan Akobian
  • GM Julio Becerra
  • GM John Fedorowicz 
  • GM Irina Krush
  • GM Daniel Naroditsky
  • GM Magesh Panchanathan 
  • GM Greg Serper
  • IM/WGM Martha Fierro
  • IM Keaton Kiewra
  • IM Kassa Korley
  • NM Damir Studen